Struggle to create a CheckCommand using the Icinga2 API

This forum was archived to /woltlab and is now in read-only mode.
  • Hi,

I'm quite new to monitoring and Icinga2. I've spend quite some time with the documentation before decided to post my question here.

I'm trying to create a CheckCommand object using the API, but I'm struggling the achieve the bare minimum. I should mention as well that my aim is to enable a custom build plugin that is working well with Icinga to work with Icinga2. When I check the currently existing check_commands with a GET to https://my_IP:5665/v1/objects/checkcommands I get quite a few check_command for example below is the load check_command:

According to the docs the bare minimum attributes that have to be specified are the command and execute. Firstly I'm quite confused with the execute attribute (The "execute" script method takes care of executing the check. In virtually all cases you should import the "plugin-check-command" template to take care of this setting.) as for load above it seems to be a dictionary containing "type": "Function"? For testing reasons I'm trying to pass the only required attributs when I PUT to https://my_IP:5665/v1/objects/checkcommands/mem_linux with the following raw Body: { "attrs": { "command": ["usr/lib/nagios/plugins/check_mem_linux"], "execute": "import 'plugin-check-command'" }}. Why do I get the error below as it follows the same syntax as the load check_command from above:

• I've accepted defeat and created the CheckCommand manually. It work all fine.

I would advise other beginners like me to go through Icinga1 documentation first as it written more in dept.

• When you are referencing a template, you need to pass it like so. In a similar fashion all object attributes must be set inside the "attrs" dictionary.

Code