Migration from Nagios...icinga or icinga2?

Hello all,

I am really new to this whole monitoring world.
I’m currently looking into migrating a Nagios environment to Icinga. I read somewhere that migrating to icinga 1 is fairly easy and we would be able to use the same config files however migrating to Icinga2 means starting over…?

We have around 1100 servers and not a lot of time so should we simply do Icinga 1 for now?

Thank you very much !

Which Nagios version?

There are a few differences at several locations but the migration should be quite easy (from Nagios 3.x to Icinga 1.x). AFAIK there is no more development for Icinga 1 so using that version has only a very limited future.

(Kevin Honka) #3

depending on your setup it is quite easy to migrate to either icinga 1 or 2. If you really do not have much time, it would be wise to hire an expert that can support you through the migration.

(Carsten Köbke) #4

You can use the NDO DB or even the status file (converted to csv) as an import source for director for the most objects. Migrating is quite easy and can be done if planed well in a short time

Icinga1 is dead! Let it finally die peacefully: http://www.linux-magazin.de/news/supportende-fuer-icinga-1-2018/
I am sure there will be still companies support there own solution of icinga1. But to be honest, use Icinga2.
There are many(!) advantages over Icinga1. You have to learn the DSL (or the work with the Icinga Director). But meanwhile, the Icinga2 docs are very detailed. You have the chance to completely build up a new, very performant monitoring solution. You will love the apply rules in icinga2, trust me.

Thank you all for your prompt responses!

We are using Nagios 3.5.1.

I did setup a Icinga2 environment already. Works well! My next concern was migrating everything from our current Nagios environment.

Carsten : I saw some people talking about that Director thing. I can use that to migrate?