Icinga 2 Diagnostics script / data collector

diagnostics
support
debug

(Thomas Widhalm) #1

Hi,

Since I work as an support engineer at one of the Icinga partners I often have to play the guessing game/faq-game. A user reports a problem but first of all we have to figure out the basics. What OS, what Icinga 2 version, which addons and so on.

So I decided to start a project to create a script which collects all of this data in one easy to read output. The last part is important because I could always ask a user to send me their full configuration or even a clone of their VM. But what I need most is a thorough yet not overwhelming overview over the setup. The new script should provide us with exactly that: The most useful information for debugging common problems.

There is an option to have a more thorough collection of information though. So if we need log outputs, the full configuration, etc. the full mode should provide that as well.

I started the script after I analyzed a customers setup for writing documentation, so some of the checks are still considered to be a “quick hack”. But while I want to improve the code quality and “elegance” I still think easy to understand bash commands are still superior to super sophisticated ones in this occasion. I want the script to be easily maintainable (and auditable) and won’t bother with super fast execution times. This will be run once in a very long while so speed is not important.

So have a look at the script and feel free to contribute or open issues. Please note that I will focus the output to be as easily to read as possible. So while adding extra modes for special cases is always an option I might not add every idea to the default output. Furthermore the script should run on every supported and more platforms so keeping it simple is another thing to keep in mind.

Nice! As I saw on Github, you added an Issue to add FreeBSD support. I’ll look into this!

(Thomas Widhalm) #3