Access denied for user root

Hi everybody,

I’m completely new to icinga so maybe this is a somewhat stupid question.

I installed icinga2 and icingaweb2 on a Ubuntu 18.04.01 x64 virtual machine (VMWare), php is version 7.2.
I followed the installation instructions from here and here and it went smoothly for most of the time.
The only thing I did that is not in the instructions is that I created a two additional MySQL users: localadmin@localhost and remoteadmin@%. Both have all privileges everywhere (grant all privileges on . to … with grant option; flush privileges;).
To finish the setup I go to servername/icingaweb2/setup and answer every question asked. And the very last step fails

On top it says that it connected successfully to the db “icinga2”, creates the db schema, create login “root” and gives the necessary permissions.
And then it says "could not create user “icingaadmin”. An error occured.
Same for the usergroup “Administrators”. Both times the error is "Access denied for user ‘root’@‘localhost’

Why is that? At the beginning it says that everthing went ok. Could someone help me out please?

Regards
JB

For me it looks like the MySQL root user is not allowed to connect from localhost to the icingaweb DB.

icingaadmin would be the icingaweb2 UI user and “Administratoren” the user group. Those are saved in the database of icingaweb

Also “Die Datenbank “%s” …” looks strange to me.

“Die Datenbank “%s”…” is a simple translation error IMHO.

Just for me to b e clear: “localhost” means here the virtual machine icinga is running on, right?
How do I grant root the necessary privileges?

Thanks for your quick response.

Yes. I assume you installed icinga2, icingaweb2 and mysql on the same VM, correct?

Normally the setup wizard does the database setup for you.
If I remember correctly it first asks you to configure the IDO database (connection details and credentials), then for the mysql root user.