A very basic low level understanding question

• Hi all,

I am new to Icinga2 and am LOVING it. I am planning on setting up multiple servers to monitor multiple devices with multiple services.

And I've got the basics down: I can install Icinga2, Icinga2 web (wrote installers which runs through the install from a basic CentOS image). In my current lab setup I have some hosts (W7, 2012R2, Ubuntu, CentOS) monitored which I 'tied' into the master using the 'icinga2 client' package installed on the clients. When setting up these new hosts you run it on the client and create a certificate on the master and then the two talk and I see the hosts and services come up

I noticed that these hosts are setup under repository.d/ and the services look like this:

object Service "ping4" {
    import "satellite-service"
    check_command = "dummy"
    host_name = "ubuntu1"
    zone = "ubuntu1"
    }

And have a check_command of 'cluster-zone' assigned to them.

I guess what I am trying to get my head around is whether the installation of the client piece is needed (and necessary?). E.g I can create a host and just do:

• check_command='hostalive' or
    • check_command='ping4' on it.

Perhaps even ssh and mysql? But what about load, disk,procs,users? Do I need the client software for that?

I guess what I am asking is whether the client software piece is really there to making it easy to setup a new host, but that you could do without it and all set it up manually?

Thanks

• At first glance those cli tools help you with SSL certificate generation ("CSR autosigning") as well as simple configuration (endpoints and zone relation ship). The default "node update-config" cli command will use the "bottom up" way of setting up those clients. Using this method you're up to 1) install plugins on the clients 2) locally configure the checks on the client 3) import them on the master.